The OSI model decribes the layered functions of a network as:

  • Layer 7: Application layer
  • Layer 6: Presentation layer
  • Layer 5: Session layer
  • Layer 4: Transport layer
  • Layer 3: Network layer
  • Layer 2: Data link layer
  • Layer 1: Physical layer

Sometimes the 7 layer OSI model is “extended”, in a humorous way, to cover all the frustrating non-technical issues that are encountered by us in the business. Hence, the extended OSI model adds layers 8 to 10:

  • Layer 10: Political layer
  • Layer 9: Financial layer
  • Layer 8: User layer

10layers.com aims to cover the emerging next generation internet from the physical to the political layers.

10layers.com can be contacted using e-mail